Sport: Discarded All Blacks duo primed for Mitre 10 Cup action after being named in Taranaki squad - PressFrom - Australia

SportDiscarded All Blacks duo primed for Mitre 10 Cup action after being named in Taranaki squad

14:32  22 july  2019
14:32  22 july  2019 Source:

Fiji make history against Māori All Blacks in Suva

Fiji make history against Māori All Blacks in Suva The win is the Island nation’s first against the side since 1957.

Menu mitre 10 cup Home. NZ Universities primed for home clash. The New Zealand Universities are back in action , on home soil too, as they help the Waikato have the chance to bounce straight back up to the Premiership after being relegated last year but face a confident Otago

Four new All Blacks have been named in the squad : Chiefs and Waikato loose forward Luke Jacobson, Highlanders and Otago first five-eighth Josh Ioane and Crusaders and Canterbury back Braydon Ennor and Crusaders and Waikato outside back Sevu Reece. All Blacks Head Coach Steve

Discarded All Blacks duo primed for Mitre 10 Cup action after being named in Taranaki squad© (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images) Discarded All Blacks duo primed for Mitre 10 Cup action after being named in Taranaki squad

Unwanted All Blacks duo Waisake Naholo and Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi will have to state their case for World Cup inclusion through the Mitre 10 Cup after being named in the Taranaki squad for the upcoming campaign.

Naholo and Tahuriorangi were left out of All Blacks head coach Steve Hansen’s extended 39-man squad for the Rugby Championship, with the likes of Sevu Reece, George Bridge and Brad Weber preferred in the outside backs and at halfback, respectively.

London Irish-bound Naholo’s exclusion came after the 28-year-old was dogged by bad form early in the Super Rugby season with the Highlanders, which was followed by a lengthy spell on the sidelines with a knee injury, before returning to impress in limited outings.

Argentina 16-20 New Zealand: All Blacks pip plucky Pumas

Argentina 16-20 New Zealand: All Blacks pip plucky Pumas Argentina kept New Zealand scoreless for the second half of their Buenos Aires showdown, but could not avoid a Rugby Championship defeat.

Menu mitre 10 cup Home. News. Kendra Cocksedge has been named the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year, the Black Ferns Sevens crowned the adidas New Zealand Team of the Year, and the Crusaders named adidas National Team of the Year, in a history-making ASB Rugby

Damian McKenzie has been named as a replacement for All Blacks Vice-Captain Ben Smith, who will take an extended break The All Blacks squad will assemble on Thursday this week with the team taking on the Counties Manukau and Taranaki Mitre 10 Cup sides in the ever-popular Game of Three

Tahuriorangi, meanwhile, struggled for game time behind the in-form Weber at the Chiefs, with the diminutive halfback earning selection back into the national side after four years in the international wilderness.

Back-to-back appearances for the Maori All Blacks in consecutive weeks over the past fortnight won’t have quelled Tahuriorangi’s desire to play for the All Blacks again this year, but both he and Naholo will be forced to prove their worth in New Zealand’s premier domestic competition.

They will be supported by a strong core of players named by head coach Willie Rickards, which includes a raft of individuals with Super Rugby experience.

The Bulls will be captained by Chiefs loose froward Mitchell Brown, while Highlanders midfielder Teihorangi Walden is vice-captain.

Greenpeace activists scaling Wellington high rise

Greenpeace activists scaling Wellington high rise Greenpeace activists are climbing a multi-storey building in central Wellington to try to reach the headquarters of Austrian oil company OMV. In a statement the environmental group said Abigail Smith and Nick Hanafin started climbing the Majestic Centre this morning and were expected to take all day. require(["inlineoutstreamAd", "c.

Taranaki . Ngati Kahungunu. James Lowe. Six new caps have been named in the side including this year’s New Zealand Under 20 captain, Wellington’s Leni Apisai. Wednesday: The Maori All Blacks assemble (except those involved in Mitre 10 Cup Finals matches) in Auckland, tomorrow, Wednesday

For home hardware products, builders' supplies & DIY essentials New Zealand wide, visit your local Mitre 10 or Mitre 10 MEGA store, or buy online. Use this grid to map your existing kitchen or try out some new layouts - you might be surprised at the results!

Other notable names throughout the team include Chiefs sextet Reuben O’Neill, Bradley Slater, Jesse Parete, Lachlan Boshier, Pita Gus Sowakula and Sean Wainui, while Hurricanes duo Ricky Riccitelli and Heiden Bedwell-Curtis have also been named.

New Zealand U20 captain Kaylum Boshier has been picked alongside national teammate Tupou Vaa’i, as has young Blues playmaker Stephen Perofeta, although injury has ruled him out of contention until late August.

In his absence, Daniel Waite will be expected to call the shots in the No 10 jersey.

Naholo’s younger brother and former schoolboy sensation, Kiniviliame Naholo, is also a selection worthy of note.

The ex-Hasting’s Boys’ High School wing scored 40 tries in 20 games en route to claiming the national secondary school title in 2017, the same year of which he featured alongside the likes of Etene Nanai-Seturo, Leicester Fainga’anuku and Quinn Tupaea in a star-studded New Zealand Schools team.

The unlucky All Blacks who could face the chopping block

The unlucky All Blacks who could face the chopping block The All Blacks named a 39-man squad for their Rugby Championship matches against Argentina and South Africa. 

The latest Tweets from Mitre 10 Cup (@ Mitre 10 Cup ). This is the Official Twitter account of the Mitre 10 Cup , New Zealand's premier domestic Rugby competition. # mitre 10 cup .

With the support of Mitre 10 , the competition has increased to 12 teams playing across a premiership and championship division. The JJ Stewart Trophy is the Farah Palmer Cup ’s equivalent of the Ranfurly Shield, named after staunch women's rugby advocate (and All Blacks Coach) John Stewart.

Taranaki kick off their 2019 Mitre 10 Cup season against Counties Manukau in Pukekohe on August 10.

Taranaki Bulls Mitre 10 Cup squad:


Mitch Brown (c), Reuben O’Neill, Chris Gawler, Jared Proffit, Asaeli Sorovaki, Donald Brighouse, Kyle Stewart, Ricky Riccitelli, Bradley Slater,  Scott Mellow, Tupou Vaa’i, Leighton Price, Josh Lord, Jesse Parete, Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, Tom Florence, Kaylum Boshier, Lachlan Boshier, Pita Gus Sowakula.


Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, Lisati Milo-Harris, Warwick Lahmert, Xavier Roe, Stephen Perofeta,  Teihorangi Walden (vc), Regan Verney, Sean Wainui, Lukas Halls, Kiniviliame Naholo, Waisake Naholo, Jackson Ormond, Jayson Potroz, Brayton Northcott-Hill.

The Ashes 2019: Australia primed for success in Ashes battle with England, insists Peter Siddle.
Australia have not triumphed in an Ashes series on English soil since 2001 but Peter Siddle is confident the 2019 squad can prosper.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks
usr: 0
This is interesting!