Sport World Cup hosts to be decided by open vote as World Rugby approves changes

18:05  24 november  2020
18:05  24 november  2020 Source:   reuters.com

'He made his mark': Greats pay tribute to 'Growdy'

  'He made his mark': Greats pay tribute to 'Growdy' A who's who of former Wallabies coaches, captains and superstars have lined up to pay tribute to Greg Growden."NSW Rugby yesterday farewelled its heart and soul," Growden wrote. "Eternal thanks for the laughs, the belief, the camaraderie, the bonhomie.

The Rugby World Cup host nation is selected by World Rugby at a meeting six years before each tournament. Each of the Rugby World Cups from 1987 to 2015 were hosted by countries that are considered the traditional powers in World Rugby .

Seventeen countries have been FIFA World Cup hosts in the competition's twenty-one tournaments since the inaugural World Cup in 1930. The organization at first awarded hosting to countries at meetings of FIFA's congress.

(Reuters) - The World Rugby Council on Tuesday approved recommendations by its World Cup Board for a more transparent process of selecting hosts for future men's and women's editions of the tournament, including an open electronic vote with results published.

a crowd of people standing in the grass: Autumn Nations Cup - England v Ireland © Reuters/MATTHEW CHILDS Autumn Nations Cup - England v Ireland

The sport's global body said that after an interim meeting, it was decided that awarding hosting rights for the women's 2025 and 2029 editions and men's 2027 and 2031 editions would be through a vote following a risk-based technical evaluation.

Previously, World Rugby could make its recommendations to the council members before hosting rights are awarded.

Argentina remind us why we love rugby

  Argentina remind us why we love rugby They happen so infrequently but stick in the memory forever. Forget professionalism – since the dawn of the game itself everyone has loved an upset. The greater the apparent difference between the two sides on the day, the longer the upset will live on in rugby folklore. Japan beating Ireland at last year’s Rugby World Cup, and South Africa at the one before that. Ireland beating New Zealand in Chicago. Samoa beating Australia in Sydney. Western Samoa beating Wales way back when. It’s far from an exhaustive list, but they all evoke memories and pull at heartstrings.

The World Cup will be expanded to host 48 teams, up from 32, Fifa has decided . An initial stage of 16 groups of three teams will precede a knockout It said Fifa had made a political rather than sporting decision . "We fail to see the merits to changing the format of 32 that has proven to be the perfect

World Rugby and Rugby World Cup Limited Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “This is the first Rugby World Cup host selection to take place following a Our colleagues on the World Rugby Council will now meet on 15 November in London to consider the Board’s recommendation and vote to decide

"These decisions reflect best-practice in major sports event host selection and will ensure Rugby World Cup is accessible and attractive to a wide range of potential hosts," World Rugby said in a statement https://www.world.rugby/news/605861/voting-process-confirmed-for-future-rugby-world-cup-awarding.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said that the new process was part of plans to bring about positive changes in his second term as head of the body.

"I have strived to implement key governance enhancements that inject further transparency, clarity and consistency into our decision-making processes," Beaumont added.

"Rugby World Cup is at the centre of that strategy as our flagship men's and women's event and major driver of revenue.

"The decision... will ensure we're able to advance with a world-class host selection process that will deliver a robust 10-year growth strategy... as we collectively look to rebound from the pandemic and optimise revenue certainty for reinvestment in the sport at all levels."

France will host the men's World Cup in 2023, while New Zealand will stage the women's event next year.

The process for selecting the next hosts will begin in February 2021 and conclude in May 2022.

(Reporting by Shrivathsa Sridhar in Bengaluru; Editing by Christian Radnedge)

Rugby: Women's World Cup to be expanded to 16 teams from 2025 .
Rugby: Women's World Cup to be expanded to 16 teams from 2025The decision was taken by the Rugby World Cup Board earlier this year and World Rugby chairman Bill Beaumont said it was a "milestone moment" for the women's game.

usr: 0
This is interesting!