Sport This Date in NBA History (June 11): New York Knicks become first 8th seed to reach NBA Finals in 1999 and more

14:01  11 june  2021
14:01  11 june  2021 Source:   sportingnews.com

NBA Playoffs 2021: Philadelphia 76ers vs. Atlanta Hawks series preview

  NBA Playoffs 2021: Philadelphia 76ers vs. Atlanta Hawks series preview After missing the playoffs last season, the Atlanta Hawks are into the second round, where they will face a tough test against the No.1 seed Philadelphia 76ers. Can Trae Young continue his scorching playoff debut against one of the NBA's best defences or will the 76ers march on to the Eastern Conference Finals?Awaiting them is the No.5 seed Atlanta Hawks, who took care of the New York Knicks in five games, giving us a matchup between one of the best offences in the league and the best defences.

On June 11th in 1999, the New York Knicks defeated the Indiana Pacers 90-82 in Game 6 of the Eastern Conference Finals and made league history.

They became the first eighth-seeded team in NBA history to reach the NBA Finals.

The Knicks entered the 1999 postseason with a 27-23 record in the lockout-shortened 50-game season. They were only six games off the Eastern Conference's top seed in the Miami Heat (33-17), a team they would face in the first round of the playoffs.

Train services added to list of Melbourne COVID exposure sites, but Anglesea venues removed

  Train services added to list of Melbourne COVID exposure sites, but Anglesea venues removed There are still more than 360 locations listed as exposure sites in Victoria, even after some venues were removed after two cases were deemed false positives.The ruling that a case at Anglesea was a false positive means that all venues listed in the Surf Coast town are no longer considered exposure sites.

Both teams would split the first four games of the series with a comfortable average winning margin being of 17.25 points. However, the winner-take-all Game 5 was tightly contested and went down to the wire.

The Knicks clinched this deciding game with Allan Houston's game-winner:

Back then, it was only the second time in NBA history (after the 1994 Denver Nuggets) that an eighth-seeded team had beaten the top seed. Since 1999,  three other eighth-seeded teams have pulled off a similar upset - 2007 Warriors, 2011 Grizzlies, 2012 76ers.

League Pass Alert: One Play - The Brooklyn Nets are unguardable even without James Harden

  League Pass Alert: One Play - The Brooklyn Nets are unguardable even without James Harden The Nets lost James Harden early in Game 1 due to a hamstring injury, but it didn't stop them from cruising to a victory over the Bucks behind the play of Kevin Durant and Kyrie Irving. More than anything, it was a reminder of how dominant the Nets have been offensively all season long with two of their three All-Stars on the court.Today, the Brooklyn Nets take the spotlight.

MORE: Unlikely surprising playoff runs in NBA history

In the second round of the 1999 playoffs, the Knicks eased past the fourth-seeded Atlanta Hawks with a four-game sweep. In the Conference Finals, they matched-up against the 33-win Indiana Pacers (tied for best record in the East), a team they faced in four of the six previous playoffs.

Unlike their lop-sided first-round series, the six-game series against the Pacers was competitive with a winning margin of just 5.5 points. However, as they split the first two games on the road in Indiana, the Knicks lost Patrick Ewing to a partial tear of his left Achilles tendon, an injury that forced him out of rest of the playoffs.

Coming off an injury to such an important player, the Knicks needed some heroics to lift them in Game 3 and that's exactly what Larry Johnson provided in the final seconds:

Despite losing the home-court advantage they had stolen by dropping Game 4, the Knicks won Game 5 and 6 on the trot to advance to their eighth NBA Finals.

Who has been named Coach of the Year? A complete list of previous winners

  Who has been named Coach of the Year? A complete list of previous winners Gregg Popovich, Don Nelson and Pat Riley have each been named Coach of the Year three times, tying them for the most in NBA history. Take a look back at the history of coaches to earn the honour.Pipping finalists in Monty Williams of the Phoenix Suns and Quin Snyder of the Utah Jazz, this is Thibodeau's second career Coach of the Year honour after previously winning it in 2010-11 with the Chicago Bulls.

In the Game 6 win, despite Johnson not playing the second half due to a knee injury, Allan Houston led the way with a game-high 32 points (12-17 FGs) and the Knicks held Reggie Miller to just 3-of-18 shooting from the field.

In the 1999 NBA Finals, the Knicks only managed to win one game (Game 3) as Tim Duncan and the San Antonio Spurs clinched their first championship in franchise history.

Other notable events on June 11th

  • In 1987, five Boston Celtics' scored 20 or more points - setting an NBA Finals record - as they beat the Los Angeles Lakers 123-108 in Game 5 of the NBA Finals. Dennis Johnson top-scored with 23 while also dishing out 11 assists but the Lakers went on to win the title in six games.
Michael Jordan, Charles Barkley © Provided by Sporting News Michael Jordan, Charles Barkley
  • In 1993, Michael Jordan and Charles Barkley scored 42 points apiece in Game 2 of the Finals as the Bulls went on to win 111-108. This game marked the first time in NBA Finals history that two opponents had scored at least 40 points in the same Finals game.
  • In 1997, Michael Jordan combats the flu and wills the Bulls to a 90-88 Game 5 victory over the Jazz with a superhuman effort of 38 points, seven rebounds, five assists, and three steals in 44 minutes.
  • In 2009, Derek Fisher knocked down two clutch 3-pointers - one in regulation and one in overtime to help the Los Angeles Lakers come from 12 points down at halftime to win Game 4 of the Finals against the Orlando Magic.
  • In 2013, the San Antonio Spurs knocked down a then Finals record 16 3-pointers in a dominating 113-77 Game 3 victory over the Miami Heat. Danny Green (7) and Gary Neal (6) combined for 13 of those 16.
  • In 2015, Andre Iguodala gets his first start of the season, in place of Andrew Bogut, as the Golden State go small to win Game 4 103-82 and tie the Finals up at two games apiece.

The views on this page do not reflect the views of the NBA or its clubs.

Giannis Antetokounmpo, Nikola Jokic and Stephen Curry headline 2020-21 All-NBA First Team .
Giannis Antetokounmpo was the lone unanimous selection, joined by MVP Nikola Jokic, Steph curry, Luka Doncic and Kawhi Leonard on the All-NBA. First Team.Get the latest NBA Playoff coverage

usr: 5
This is interesting!