•   
  •   

Tech & Science How To Automatically Delete Your Google Data, And Why You Should

01:55  05 november  2019
01:55  05 november  2019 Source:   lifehacker.com.au

Google's new Pixel 4 is a solid phone, but it's not worth $800

  Google's new Pixel 4 is a solid phone, but it's not worth $800 Google's new Pixel 4 is available to buy starting on Thursday. The Pixel 4 takes great photos, but it's lacking an ultra-wide camera lens, which makes it less versatile than its competition, like the AppleiPhone 11 and SamsungGalaxy S10e. It comes with a smooth 90Hz screen and good specs that makes for a fast and fluid experience while using the phone. At the same time, the Pixel 4 is lacking in other key ways that people care about, like design and battery life. Google's Pixel 4 is certainly worth considering, but I'd take a good, long look at the $US600 OnePlus 7T before hitting the "buy" button.

Google collects lots of data , which is used to curate content recommendations on services like Google Play and YouTube All of this data can be accessed from your Google Account’s activity dashboard, but before we get into how you set up auto- deletion , let’s talk about why you would want to.

Learn how to automatically delete your Location History. When you delete data , we follow a policy to safely and completely remove it from your account. First, deleted activity is immediately removed from view and no longer used to personalize your Google experience.

a screenshot of a computer: Screenshot: Brendan Hesse, <a href= © Provided by Pedestrian TV Group Pty Ltd Screenshot: Brendan Hesse, Google" out-link" src="https://myactivity.google.com/myactivity?">Google">

Google collects lots of data, which is used to curate content recommendations on services like Google Play and YouTube, as well as market ads to you based on your activity.

We’ve talked about this practice a lot, but to Google’s credit, the company has given users greater control over the ultimate fate of the data it collects. This includes the ability to automatically delete this data at regular, repeating intervals. We’ve covered some of this in the past, but in light of some recent updates to Google’s privacy options, we’re going to show you how to automatically delete your data across as many of Google’s services as possible.

How to find and track flights using Google Flights to get the best deal on your next flight

  How to find and track flights using Google Flights to get the best deal on your next flight Hackers around the world, often teenagers, are making thousands by creating and selling games cheats to a growing market. The most recent survey suggests that around a third of gamers admit to using them to improve their chances online. Cyber-security reporter Joe Tidy went to play a game with a cheat hacker to find out how the 17-year-old makes thousands of dollars a month through his underground business. Last week, in China, four alleged hackers were arrested for similar offences. Cyber-security reporter: Joe Tidy Video journalist: Harriet Bradshaw Please subscribe HERE http://bit.ly/1rbfUog

Thankfully, Google recently implemented the ability to delete most of your data automatically . Let’s check out how you can configure your Google Sadly, you can’t configure your Google Account to automatically remove data less older than 3 months. Step 4: On the following screen, click Confirm.

Learn how to automatically delete your Location History. When you delete data , we follow a policy to safely and completely remove it from your account. First, deleted activity is immediately removed from view and no longer used to personalize your Google experience.

First let’s go over the data that can be automatically deleted, which Google organises into three different categories:

  • Web and app history. This includes voice and audio data from Google assistant and other apps; data collected from apps synced to your Google account; all Chrome browsing history.

  • YouTube search and watch histories

  • Google Maps history and GPS location data

All of this data can be accessed from your Google Account’s activity dashboard, but before we get into how you set up auto-deletion, let’s talk about why you would want to.

One reason is because of the heightened personal privacy it provides, especially when it comes to your location and Google maps data. That said, your YouTube history is very different than sensitive material like, say, your name or bank info—all of which Google handles differently, and there are separate tools for managing such data.

Google keeps a staggering amount of information about you. Here's how to download and manage your Google data

  Google keeps a staggering amount of information about you. Here's how to download and manage your Google data Every search you perform, every video you watch, every route you drive, everything you buy, your income, your gender, your age, your voice, your face, and more.As a spate of data leaks and privacy violations continues to weaken the public's trust in big tech companies, Google has responded by creating a privacy hub that lets you access, delete and limit the data Google collects on you. Navigating all the various settings can get confusing, however, and it's not always clear what you're giving Google permission to do.

You can delete your Google Account at any tim. You ’ll lose all the data and content in that account, like emails, files, calendars, and photos. Save contacts in your Google Account, you can find out if they were downloaded so you can let contacts know if they should watch out for suspicious messages.

Learn how to automatically delete your Location History. When you delete data , we follow a policy to safely and completely remove it from your account. First, deleted activity is immediately removed from view and no longer used to personalize your Google experience.

A more tangible reason is that deleting your data is helpful for up-to-date content (and ad) curation. People change, our tastes evolve, and periodically deleting your outdated content history is like giving your YouTube, Google Play, or even Google Podcast recommendations a refresh based on your current interests.

How to auto-delete your Google data

This process is almost identical on both mobile and web. We’ll focus on the latter, but the former is easy to figure out, too:

  1. Go to your Google activity dashboard (you’ll need to sign in to your Google account first).

  2. Click “Activity controls” from the left-hand sidebar.

  3. Scroll down to the data type you wish to manage, then select “Manage Activity.”

  4. On this next page, click on “Choose how long to keep” under the calendar icon.

  5. Select the auto-deletion time you wish (three or 18 months), or you can choose to delete your data manually.

  6. Click “Next” to save your changes.

  7. Repeat these steps for each of the types of data you want to be auto-deleted. For your Location History in particular, you’ll need to click on “Today” in the upper-left corner first, and then click on the gear icon in the lower-right corner of your screen. Then, select “Automatically delete Location History,” and pick a time.

How to make a private album on your iPhone with a free app, and keep your photos secure .
You can make private album on an iPhone with a third-party app. There are several apps that will allow you to do this, but here's a look at Photo Vault, one of the most commonly used ones. Visit Business Insider's homepage for more stories.While the iPhoneallows you to hide photos, it doesn't provide much security, as your images can still be easily found if someone knows where to look. In order to create a truly private album that's password-protected, you'll need to download a third-party app.While there are several different apps that you can use to protect your iPhone images, Photo Vault is one of the more commonly used ones.

Topical videos:

usr: 1
This is interesting!