World Canada bans travelers from Egypt, Nigeria and Malawi over Omicron fears

01:21  01 december  2021
01:21  01 december  2021 Source:   afp.com

South Africa tries to calm fears over new Covid variant 'Omicron'

  South Africa tries to calm fears over new Covid variant 'Omicron' Belgium revealed a case of the variant - named 'Omicron' by the WHO overnight - prompting EU chiefs to call for an 'emergency brake' on all travel from southern Africa after it was found in Israel.South African medics moved to calm a wave of panic over a new ultra-infectious and vaccine resistant Covid strain today as its arrival in Europe sparked fears of a new Christmas shutdown.

Canada will ban travelers who have been to Nigeria , Malawi and Egypt over concerns about the spread of the Omicron coronavirus variant, the Toronto Star newspaper said on Tuesday, citing sources. Canada has identified five people with the new variant, at least two of whom were recently in Nigeria . The western province of Alberta has detected at least one case of Omicron , a spokesman for premier Jason Kenney told the Canadian Broadcasting Corp. Last week Ottawa barred travelers who had recently been to South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and

And the Dutch health authority said Omicron was already spreading in the Netherlands, where intensive care beds are running out and measures including restrictions on hospitality have yet to take effect. read more. The curbs on travellers from southern Africa have highlighted the inequality of vaccine distribution, which may have given the virus more opportunities to mutate. Americas Canada to ban travelers from Nigeria , Malawi , Egypt over Omicron concerns -Toronto Star November 30, 2021.

Canada on Tuesday banned travellers from Egypt, Nigeria and Malawi over fears of the spread of the new Omicron coronavirus variant, bringing to 10 the number of African countries targeted by Ottawa.

Canada is grappling with its first detected cases of the Omicron variant of Covid-19, and has banned travellers from 10 countries amid concern over the spread of the new strain © Andrej Ivanov Canada is grappling with its first detected cases of the Omicron variant of Covid-19, and has banned travellers from 10 countries amid concern over the spread of the new strain

"Foreign nationals who have transited or stayed in these 10 countries cannot enter Canada if they have been in those countries in the last two weeks," Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos told a press conference.

We Know Almost Nothing About the Omicron Variant

  We Know Almost Nothing About the Omicron Variant Here’s everything we do.

Legit.ng News A professor has raised fears on the possibilit of Nigeria risking travel bans from other countries over the recent detection of the Omicron variant in Canada . With the recent detection of the Omicron variant of COVID-19 from Nigerian travellers in Canada , hopes seem to be dampened in the fight to end the pandemic. An expert has called on the Nigerian government to tighten its seatbelt in ensuring that the spread of the disease is curbed.

Canada is banning foreign travellers to the country from seven African countries, and Australia has announced similar measures. The World Health Organization gave the variant B.1.1.529 a name, Omicron , and said an advisory group had recommended it should be designated as “of concern”. The WHO also said preliminary evidence suggested the latest variant carried a “higher risk of re-infection than other variants of concern”. Some health officials expressed concerned over whether present vaccines could protect against the Omicron variant. The new variant has more than 30 mutations on

He also said all air travelers arriving from outside Canada, apart from the United States, will now need to be tested for Covid-19 at their point of entry, "whether they are vaccinated or unvaccinated," and that those travelers will need to isolate until their test results are available.

First reported to the World Health Organization less than a week ago after being detected in southern Africa earlier in November, the Omicron variant has already appeared in several countries, stoking global fears about a coronavirus pandemic that has killed more than five million people and savaged economies worldwide.

"The pandemic is not over," Transport Minister Omar Alghabra added. "Travel measures could change at any moment."

Canada on Friday banned entry to all travelers from seven southern African countries: Botswana, Swaziland, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

And on Sunday, Canada confirmed it had detected its first cases of the new Omicron strain, in two people who had traveled recently to Nigeria.

The WHO warned on Tuesday that travel bans will not prevent the spread of the new variant, after some 50 countries put similar measures in place.

Canada has reported a total of 1,791,902 coronavirus cases and 29,681 deaths.


Australians forced to quarantine after SIXTH case Omicron confirmed .
NSW has extended quarantine requirements for travellers and ramped up fines for anyone in breach of coronavirus rules as the new variant Omicron continues to spread in Australia. There are now five cases in NSW after a woman on the Central Coast was confirmed to be infected by the super-mutant strain Tuesday - a sixth case is also in isolation in the Northern Territory.Current measures which require Australian citizens arriving from nine African nations to undergo hotel quarantine for 14 days were extended by Dominic Perrottet.

usr: 0
This is interesting!