•   
  •   
  •   

Reviews Test Drive: 2018 BMW X1 xDrive28i

22:11  13 june  2018
22:11  13 june  2018 Source:   autotrader.ca

Ford Getting Out of the Sedan Business

  Ford Getting Out of the Sedan Business Ford has just announced that it is converting fully to crossovers in North America, dropping traditional sedans after the current generation . The shocking news came as part of the company's first quarter financial results announcement earlier today, along with the news of a new model coming. Sales of sedans are dropping off a cliff in the last few years, as more small crossover options become available. Cheap gas, improving fuel economy, and changing tastes have moved buyers from cars to crossovers and trucks. Sales of the Focus, Fiesta, Fusion, and Taurus have all suffered as a result.

2018 BMW X 1 xDrive 28 i | TestDrive Spotlight. Perpetual Radio Networks. We also take the vehicle on a road test to talk about how it handles, performs, and feels on a daily drive .

The BMW X 1 was always great to drive , but now it is prettier and looks live a real premium crossover. Music by: Vibe Tracks - Golden YouTube Creative Library.

Before buying my first BMW, I remember wondering what all the fuss – and expense – was about. Within the first kilometre or two of a test drive, I realized why the Bavarians had dared proclaim themselves the purveyors of The Ultimate Driving Machine. There was a harmonious balance to the way the inline-six hummed along, the way the shifter worked through its gate, and the way the handling seemed almost fluid. Plus, there was a constant sense of substance and heft to the compact sedan.

Riderless motorcycle ready for autonomous world

  Riderless motorcycle ready for autonomous world Riderless bike expected to allow more comprehensive autonomous car testingNow, autonomous cars sort of make sense on a utility front because users can occupy the time they might spend on a daily commute, for example, planning out the day on the way to work or catching up on tasks there wasn’t enough time for at the office on the way home.

Search New Vehicle Inventory. Digital Brochures. Schedule a Test Drive . Contact a BMW Center. Offer not valid in Puerto Rico. Lease financing available on new 2018 BMW X 1 sDrive 28 i models from participating BMW Centers through BMW Financial Services through September 03, 2018 , to eligible

New BMW X 2 Test Drive Review: Better Than BMW X 1 ? EuromanDriver 2018 - Продолжительность: 9:32 Euroman Driver 1 710 просмотров. NEW 2018 - BMW X 1 Xdrive 28 i 2.0 liter 228 horsepower - Interior and Exterior Full HD 1080p - Продолжительность: 2:31 NV Studio 6 825 просмотров.

That was fifteen or so years ago and I’ve since owned three of them. More recently, I have moved on to other machines as the cost of BMWs and the lustre of the roundel badge have dimmed a bit for me.

This week I found myself assigned the smallest of BMW’s ever-expanding SUV line-up, and my initial reactions somewhat echoed my thoughts from all those years ago with that first BMW.

“I see these things by the dozen around the Greater Toronto Area, but why? Are people that hard-up for a premium badge that they think they need this thing?”

It’s legitimately hard to find a poorly made machine these days; there are just varying degrees of goodness, with some being truly great. I know that it’s possible to spec out a Japanese- or Korean-branded SUV that’s going to have as much technology on board as this little Bimmer, but cost much less (see any of my recent reviews here of Kias, Hyundais, and Hondas, for reference).

Review: 2018 Lexus NX 300

  Review: 2018 Lexus NX 300 When my colleague Jock McCleary had the chance to put the Lexus NX through its paces last year in British Columbia, he gave it high praise noting the style and ride will resonate with the less than 40 crowd looking to enter the luxury compact crossover market. After a week in the NX I can agree and while I liked the NX’s exterior style as much as Jock did, he was more of a fan of the interior styling as I was.

2018 BMW x 1 - POV test drive | XDRIVE20D - Продолжительность: 7:19 That Rental Guy 1 260 просмотров. 2018 BMW X 1 Review - Продолжительность: 6:37 AdventureWithSaik 6 991 просмотр.

Come test drive this 2018 BMW X 1 . Under the hood you'll find a 4 cylinder engine with more than 200 horsepower, providing a smooth and predictable driving experience. The engine breathes better thanks to a turbocharger, improving both performance and economy.

The rather plain-looking grey paint doesn’t exactly excite and it makes the X1 resemble pretty well every other premium, compact luxury SUV out there. It’s a little stubby, kind of rounded, and with an oversized front grille to intimidate the proletariat driving non-premium-branded machinery.

“The weather’s supposed to be pretty good this week, maybe I can just ride my motorcycle instead,” I thought as I fidgeted with the mirrors, seat, and phone connection in the X1.

But then, something happened: I drove the X1 and started to like it, but not just for the reasons one might initially expect.

The first hour and a half behind the wheel of this X1 were done crossing the top of Toronto. For those familiar with this stretch of Highway 401, you know it’s about as fun as disinfecting a wound with habanero peppers. Parts of it move along at speeds notably higher than the posted limit, then inexplicably slow to a crawl, or stop.

Test Drive: 2018 BMW X2

  Test Drive: 2018 BMW X2 To say I am impressed is an understatement.The road ahead is paved with craters, hatred, and discarded hubcaps. It’s a wintry, construction-ravaged wasteland, the sort of thing you’d expect to see in a Michael Bay movie – and I can’t feel a thing.

2018 BMW X 1 xDrive 28 i - Exterior And Interior Walkaround - 2018 Quebec Auto Show - Продолжительность: 5:53 AUTO MOTO 10 357 просмотров. Test Drive BMW X 1 20d Xdrive 190 CV - Продолжительность: 4:32 AutoDigest TV 5 809 просмотров.

Xdrive AWD TEST : Bmw X 1 xDrive 28 i 2016 Diagonal test - Продолжительность: 3:47 Car Question 82 103 просмотра. 2018 BMW X 1 - Perfect Design & First Drive ! - Продолжительность: 1:46 Auto Car 99 150 просмотров.

Here, the little X1 impressed most due to BMW’s commitment to efficiency. Set to Eco Pro mode, the X1 makes throttle response softer, upshifts happen sooner, and the auto stop/start mode on high alert. The net result was an indicated average consumption rate of 7 L/100 km, and that’s with the air conditioning blasting. This is a Honda Civic-level of efficiency!

2018 BMW X1 xDrive28i-04-JW.jpg© autoTRADER.ca (Jeff Wilson) 2018 BMW X1 xDrive28

Now, these trip computer readings can be optimistic, but even a 10 percent margin of error would still represent exceptional efficiency for this type of vehicle in this type of driving. The government rates the X1 at 10.5 L/100 km in the city, 7.4 on the highway and a 9.1 combined rate, all of which should be very attainable by all but the most heavy-footed drivers.

Where the previous-generation X1 felt like an entry-level product inside, the current generation is a proper luxury machine. The look is familiar to anyone who has been in a BMW within the past decade, which is to say it’s clean and sophisticated, if not overly styled.

The materials are all top-shelf here, too. Of note, the natural finish to the dark-stained wood trim looked (and felt) especially interesting, and the dark mocha-coloured leather is a very tasteful addition. Although not as soft and buttery as the leather offered on costlier BMWs (and other makes), I know from experience that BMW’s tough “Dakota” leather is exceptionally durable and will still look really good for years to come, with just minimal attention.

Test Drive: 2018 BMW X2

  Test Drive: 2018 BMW X2 To say I am impressed is an understatement.The road ahead is paved with craters, hatred, and discarded hubcaps. It’s a wintry, construction-ravaged wasteland, the sort of thing you’d expect to see in a Michael Bay movie – and I can’t feel a thing.

2018 Test Drive : NEW BMW X 1 - Продолжительность: 6:21 All About BMW Super Sport 95 781 просмотр. 2018 BMW X 1 xDrive 28 i - Review - Продолжительность: 4:02 MotorPress.ca 39 886 просмотров.

Опубликовано: 3 мая 2018 г. BMW of Southpoint 225 Kentington Drive in Durham, NC 27713. Xdrive AWD TEST : Bmw X 1 xDrive 28 i 2016 Diagonal test - Продолжительность: 3:47 Car Question 81 703 просмотра.

Up front, the optional sport seats are outstanding. Not only do they offer plenty of adjustability, but there is ample bolstering to keep the driver and passenger planted during lively motoring, and comfortable as well. The back seat offers adjustable recline, but more importantly, it also offers a surprising amount of leg and headroom for a compact SUV like this. The rear seat also splits 40/20/40 and folds flat, expanding the luggage space from 505 L to 1,550 L, making it very competitive in this class.

One of the benefits of being at the lower end of the BMW price spectrum is that there is still some simplicity to the X1’s switchgear. Case in point: the gear selector is a good old-fashioned stalk with a button that moves through the PRND options. It’s not a push-button affair, nor a weird column stalk, or some overly convoluted song-and-dance mess that the Germans seem fond of using.

The centre stack is dominated by the iDrive screen perched on top. It is controlled via the rotary dial found between the seats and falls close to hand. I find its operation to be thoroughly smart and intuitive with primary functions all being easy to find and do. The screen, while not the largest out there, is bright and clear, and the mapping on the navigation offers just the right amount of information to be useful at speed. Apple CarPlay and Android Auto are integrated well here too, but it’s an extra $750 option to get it (along with an on-board Wi-Fi hotspot).

Mercedes-Benz unveils A-Class sedan bound for Canada

  Mercedes-Benz unveils A-Class sedan bound for Canada As if the hatchback wasn't enough, Mercedes is also giving us an A-Class sedanSet to debut at the Paris Motor Show in just a couple of months, the A-Class sedan joins Mercedes’ ever-growing compact car lineup. Save for the fact that it traded its hatch for a trunk, the A-Class sedan is mostly identical to its more practical sibling. The family resemblance is strong; from some angles, it comes across as a baby C-Class.

2018 BMW x 1 - POV test drive | XDRIVE20D - Продолжительность: 7:19 That Rental Guy 8 121 просмотр. 2018 BMW X 1 xDrive 28 i in Norwood, MA 02062 - Продолжительность: 1:21 BMW Gallery of Norwood Нет просмотров. Новинка!

Это видео недоступно. 2018 BMW X 1 xDrive 28 i - Exterior And Interior Walkaround - 2018 Quebec Auto Show. 2018 BMW X 1 F48 sDrive18i (140 HP) TEST DRIVE - Продолжительность: 17:13 TEST DRIVE FREAK23 693 просмотра.

The 2.0-litre, turbocharged inline-four-cylinder engine is the only choice for the X1 in Canada. Likewise, all X1s utilize BMW’s excellent xDrive all-wheel-drive system that impressed me a few months ago when driving this car’s sexier cousin, the X2, up a gravel-and-rock-strewn mountain path.

The drivetrain is well-suited to this little rig, making it swift if not downright fast. When first started and from outside the car, the engine makes a coarse, almost diesel-like sound that’s not exactly the sort of soundtrack one associates with a sporting machine. Inside, however, there is ample sound deadening to keep most of the engine noise, as well as wind and road noise, appropriately damped for a vehicle in this class.

An eight-speed automatic is the only transmission offered here. This is another area that made me think “A-ha! So, this is why the X1 costs so much!” It’s an outstanding bit of engineering, managing to make the shifts go completely unnoticed most of the time, but also enabling lightning-quick gear changes when desired. Paddles are included as part of the Sport Package fitted to this test car and they work well enough, but were largely untouched since the transmission did a fine job without my intervention.

The brakes have great bite, maybe even a bit too much, causing them to be a bit grabby when an easier modulation is occasionally desired. Nevertheless, they do provide very good stopping power.

Steering feel is good by modern SUV standards, but a far cry from the heyday of the Ultimate Driving Machines. Still, it’s nicely weighted and without any slop, helping the driver position the X1 exactly where they want during hard cornering.

2018 Mazda CX-5 Diesel EPA-Rated up to 8.4/7.6 L/100km

  2018 Mazda CX-5 Diesel EPA-Rated up to 8.4/7.6 L/100km Here's hoping the torque will be its selling pointA 2018 Mazda CX-5 equipped with the new 2.2-liter turbodiesel I-4, a six-speed automatic transmission, and two-wheel drive is rated at 28/31/29 mpg (8.4/7.6/8.1 L/100km) city/highway/combined. With all-wheel drive, that rating drops to 27/30/28 mpg (8.7/7.8/8.4 L/100km). Those numbers seem suspiciously low for a diesel, especially since they're not much better than the gas-powered model. A two-wheel-drive 2018 CX-5 equipped with the 2.5-liter gasoline I-4 is rated at 25/31/28 mpg (9.4/7.6/8.4 L/100km), while the all-wheel-drive version comes in at 24/30/26 mpg (9.8/7.8/9 L/100km).

2018 BMW X 3 M40i Performance Edition Test Drive Video Review - Продолжительность: 8:40 Autobytel 27 534 просмотра. 2018 BMW X 1 xDrive 28 i - Review - Продолжительность: 4:02 MotorPress.ca 49 599 просмотров.

Discerning drivers will appreciate the 2018 BMW X 1 . Smooth gearshifts are achieved thanks to the efficient 4 cylinder engine, and all wheel drive keeps Car and Driver : Tested Сезон 1 • Серия 51 2013 BMW X 1 xDrive 28 i - Review - CAR and DRIVER - Продолжительность: 17:42 Car and Driver

It’s well-balanced in its handling, too, managing to keep really decent composure and impressive grip, even if the road surface is less than perfect.

If the road is less than smooth, though, be forewarned, the ride is just this side of abusive. Modest (by Ontario standards) potholes are announced with a THWACK that can be heard and felt through the X1. Large potholes should be followed up by reading someone their last rites. The Bridgestone performance run-flat tires fitted as part of the sport pack offer as much compliance as a week-old bagel, and the suspension is as yielding as a two-by-four to the backside. I certainly don’t recall the X2’s suspension being like this, which I suppose is a testament to the quality of California’s desert roads where I drove it.

The BMW X1 xDrive28i starts at $40,000. This rig, optioned up as one might reasonably do (that is to say, not completely over-the-top), cruises past $52,000 before destination fees and taxes. A buyer could spend almost twenty-grand less and get a truly excellent compact SUV, but it won’t have the level of luxury or the impressive handling performance the X1 possesses. More importantly, for the majority of the buyers, those more affordable marques don’t have the brand cachet of owning a BMW.

The X1 is a compact luxury SUV that impresses in a lot of ways that make it justifiable to spend the money for the premium brand. For the doubters, go for a test drive before you make up your mind.

Lada 4x4 Urban Review: Da, Comrade, Da .
Does the long-wheelbase version of this Russian classic still impress? What is it?This is Lada 4x4, a car that could be sold at one of those stores where big-city people buy replica 1950s phones and china light switches for their hip old town apartment. It’s a vehicle for people that say, “They still exist, the good old things.” Since the end of 2017, this good old Russian thing is also available as a five-door. We tested the XL-Lada. 1/29 SLIDES © Motor1.com/Hersteller 2018 Lada 4x4 Urban 5-Tuerer Test 2/29 SLIDES © Motor1.com/Hersteller 2018 Lada 4x4 Urban 5-Tuerer Test 3/29 SLIDES © Motor1.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!