Canada Zambian-Canadian Rapper Backxwash Wins 2020 Polaris Music Prize

02:41  21 october  2020
02:41  21 october  2020 Source:   etcanada.com

award announced: Two US economists receive Nobel Prize in Economics

 award announced: Two US economists receive Nobel Prize in Economics The Nobel Prize in Economics this year goes to Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson. The two US economists will be honored for their improvements in auction theory and the invention of new auction formats, as the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced on Monday in Stockholm. © dpa Nobel Prize Medal This means that all Nobel Prize winners have been announced for this year. The chosen ones in the categories medicine, physics, chemistry, literature and peace were announced last week.

Backxwash has been awarded the 2020 Polaris Music Prize for her latest LP God Has Nothing To Do With This Leave Him Out Of It. This is the Montreal-based, Zambia -born artist’s first Polaris Music Prize nomination and win . The award is presented annually to the best Canadian album as decided

The rapper released the heavy metal-influenced 'God Has Nothing to Do With This Leave Him Out of It' earlier this year. 20th October 2020 . Backxwash . Credit: Mechant Vaporwave. Backxwash ’s win is a historic victory, as the first Black transgender artist to win the prestigious Canadian music award.

Zambian-Canadian rapper Backxwash is the winner of the 2020 Polaris Music Prize for the album God Has Nothing To Do With This Leave Him Out Of It.

a person wearing a costume © Credit: Polaris Music Prize

The Montreal-based artist said of the big win, “Be as honest as you want to be and create the art that you want to."

This is Backxwash’s first Polaris Music Prize honour.

The Prize, which was presented by CBC Music, goes to the best Canadian album of the year based on artistic merit without regard to genre, sales history, or label affiliation.

It was determined by a grand jury of 11 music media professionals drawn from the greater Polaris jury pool of 201 writers, editors, broadcasters, DJs, and personalities from across the country. This was the 15th edition of the Polaris Music Prize.

CMT Reveals Video of the Year Finalists for 2020 CMT Music Awards: Who Made the Cut? Who Didn’t?

  CMT Reveals Video of the Year Finalists for 2020 CMT Music Awards: Who Made the Cut? Who Didn’t? Carrie Underwood, a seven-time winner in the video of the year category at the CMT Music Awards, and Keith Urban, a three-time winner in the category, are still in the running for this year’s award after fans winnowed a preliminary field of 14 semi-finalists down to six finalists. Here are the finalists for video of the year, which were announced Monday (Oct.

Ashanti Mutinta, known professionally as Backxwash , is a Zambian - Canadian rapper based in Montreal, Quebec. She is most noted for her 2020 album God Has Nothing to Do with This Leave Him

The 2020 edition of the Canadian Polaris Music Prize will be presented on October 19, 2020 . The longlist was announced on June 15, 2020 , with the shortlist following on July 15

Video: Garth Brooks On Winning The Icon Award At The BBMAs (ET Canada)

RELATED: Polaris Music Prize 2020 Long List: The Weeknd, Jessie Reyez, Daniel Caesar Among Artists

Backxwash’s victory comes with a $50,000 reward. The nine other short-list nominees, including Caribou, Junia-T, and Pantayo, each received $3,000, courtesy of Slaight Music.

Backxwash’s name was revealed by Polaris 2019 winner Haviah Mighty, live from the stage of Toronto venue The Carlu during the 2020 Polaris Music Prize Celebration broadcast.

Due to COVID-19, Polaris chose not to host a winner gala event this year. Instead, they invited Canadian filmmakers to apply to create commissioned films inspired by each of the short-list-nominated albums. Hundreds of filmmakers applied, with the selected filmmaking teams being commissioned based on input from Polaris staff, CBC Music, and short-list nominee teams.

These 10 short films were streamed during the 2020 Polaris Music Prize Celebration, hosted by CBC Music’s Saroja Coelho.

"It's an incredible and humbling honour to oversee this year's Polaris Grand Jury," said Polaris jury foreperson Melissa Vincent. "Their devotion to discussing and championing the work of an outstanding group of artists is a testament to the vitality of music coming out of Canada. We could not be more thrilled to congratulate the winner of the 2020 Polaris Music Prize!"

Past Polaris winners include Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), and Tanya Tagaq (2014).

Scott Dixon wins 6th IndyCar title; Josef Newgarden comes up short despite winning season finale .
Scott Dixon won his sixth IndyCar title, one shy of A.J. Foyt's record, despite a strong run by Josef Newgarden, who won Sunday at St. Petersburg.Rain.Ten  cars into the wall in an onslaught of incidents both mid-race and toward the finish. And a pace car that ran out of fuel. But somehow, IndyCar's 40-year-old veteran withstood it all.

usr: 0
This is interesting!