Entertainment ‘Alaskan Nets’ Wins Santa Barbara Film Festival Audience Award

20:06  10 april  2021
20:06  10 april  2021 Source:   deadline.com

Bill Murray Accepts Maltin Modern Master Award At Santa Barbara International Film Festival, Reflecting On His Time With ‘Ghostbusters,’ His Writing Ambitions & More

  Bill Murray Accepts Maltin Modern Master Award At Santa Barbara International Film Festival, Reflecting On His Time With ‘Ghostbusters,’ His Writing Ambitions & More On Saturday, Bill Murray appeared virtually to accept the Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s Maltin Modern Master Award. Presented by Sofia and Roman Coppola, the award recognized the screen icon for his long-standing contributions to the film industry. Most recently, Murray starred in Sofia Coppola’s On the Rocks, opposite Rashida Jones and Marlon Wayans, earning Golden Globe and Critic’s Choice nominations for his turn as larger-than-life playboy father, Felix Keane.

a man riding on top of a mountain © Raised By Wolves/AO Films

Click here to read the full article.

Alaskan Nets, a documentary executive produced by Chris Pratt that centers on confluence of high school boys basketball and the culture of fishing on a native reserve in remote Southeast Alaska, has won the audience award at the Santa Barbara Film Festival.

The 36th annual festival, which ran a hybrid in-person/virtual event that began March 31, wraps today with the unveiling of its juried awards. Alaskan Nets, directed by Jeff Harasimowicz, won the Audience Choice Award among a total of 11 categories that were represented.

More from Deadline
  • 'Alaskan Nets' Trailer: Slam Dunks And Salmon Define Remote Community In Santa Barbara Film Festival Documentary EP'd By Chris Pratt
  • Santa Barbara Film Festival Awards: Oscar-Nominated Directors Latest Honorees
  • Santa Barbara Film Festival Sets Lineup For Hybrid Edition; 'Invisible Valley' Is Opener

“To say we are thrilled to win the audience choice award would be a vast understatement,” Harasimowicz said. “To see this film resonate with audiences is a deeply humbling experience. We are so honored to have had this special opportunity to share Alaskan Nets in Santa Barbara and I know it’s an experience my team, our families and the entire community of Metlakatla will never forget. In the words of Metlakatla’s native language, ‘Wayi Wah! / Let’s Go!’ ”

Canada's music festivals in 2021: What's cancelled this summer?

  Canada's music festivals in 2021: What's cancelled this summer? The vaccine rollout across the country had many filled with hope for a return to a pre-pandemic summer music festival scene. On Thursday, Montreal's Osheaga Festival cancelled its line-up for the second year in a row, meaning audiences won't get to see acts like Post Malone, Cardi B and the Foo Fighters. Some festival organizers say this summer will be the same as 2020, while others try to scramble to take their shows online. CBC News contacted some of the most popular music festivals in Canada to see which ones plan to go ahead. The RBC BluesFest has been moved to July 2022.

Other winners unveiled Saturday include a pair of victories for Trees of Peace, Alana Brown’s drama four woman from different backgrounds who create an indelible bond while in hiding during the 1994 Rwandan genocide. It won the Spirit Award for Independent Cinema and the the ADL Stand Up Award.

Jury members this year included Tony Anselmo, Antwone Fisher, David Freid, Li Cheng, Geoffrey Cowper, Patricia Rosema, Siqi Song, Mark Stafford, Rita Taggart, Paul Walter Hauser, Anthony and Arnette Zerbe. The audience award was culled from votes from attendees both online and at in-person drive-in events.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Audience Choice Award sponsored by The Santa Barbara Independent

Jeff Harasimowicz’s ALASKAN NETS

Art Directors Guild Awards Winners List – Updating Live

  Art Directors Guild Awards Winners List – Updating Live The 25th Annual Art Director’s Guild Awards is taking place tonight as a reimagined virtual show. Hosted by Curb Your Enthusiasm’s J.B. Smoove, the event runs from from 4 p.m.- 6 p.m., PT and celebrates outstanding production design in theatrical motion pictures, television, commercials, animated features and music videos. You can watch a livestream here. For the nominees and winners, see the list at the bottom of this post. Ryan Murphy is receiving the esteemed Cinematic Imagery Award honoring his work reflecting the highest quality of production design. The award will be presented by Matt Bomer, star of many of Murphy’s shows including Boys in the Band.

Documentary Short Film Award

Richard Reens’s PANT HOOT

Bruce Corwin Award – Live-Action Short Film

Christopher Oroza-Nostas’s SAVIOR

Bruce Corwin Award – Animated Short Film

Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu, Dean Hamer, and Joe Wilson’s KAPAEMAHU

Documentary Award sponsored by SEE International

Nina Stefanka’s MIRAGE (MIRAGGIO)

Jeffrey C. Barbakow Award – International Feature Film


Panavision Spirit Award for Independent Cinema

Alanna Brown’s TREES OF PEACE

Nueva Vision Award for Spain/Latin America Cinema

Eduardo Crespo’s WE WILL NEVER DIE

Valhalla Award for Best Nordic Film

Henrik Ruben Genz’s ERNA AT WAR (ERNA I KRIG)

Social Justice Award for Documentary Film


The ADL Stand Up Award sponsored by ADL Santa Barbara/Tri-Counties, the Skinner Social Impact Fund, and Steve and Cindy Lyons

Alanna Brown’s TREES OF PEACE

Gallery: Every Oscar best picture nominee ranked by critics (INSIDER)

Steven Yeun et al. standing on top of a grass covered field:

Gloria (TF1): Barbara Schulz, Alias ​​The Marianne Flics, does she wear a wig? .
© Julien Cauvin, Denis Manin / Quad / TF1 Gloria (TF1): Barbara Schulz, Alias ​​The MARIANNE FLIC, Does she wear a wig? In Gloria, of which TF1 broadcasts two unpublished episodes this Thursday, March 25, Cécile Bois faces Barbara Schulz, who has a fairly original hairstyle here. You are told if the comedian wears a wig! launched Thursday, March 18th on TF1, Gloria knew how to find its audience. Some curious 6.2 million looked at the first two episodes of this panting mini-series in which we fo

usr: 3
This is interesting!