Sports: Finnish Leafs forward Kapanen thinks refs made wrong call in women's final - PressFrom - Canada

SportsFinnish Leafs forward Kapanen thinks refs made wrong call in women's final

22:07  15 april  2019
22:07  15 april  2019 Source:

Watch: Magic's Carter-Williams charges at refs with bloody nose after no-call

Watch: Magic's Carter-Williams charges at refs with bloody nose after no-call Michael Carter-Williams is irate at an official after a non-call — The Render (@TheRenderNBA) April 13, 2019 Michael Carter-Williams felt he got fouled, and he had the bloody nose to prove it. 

Finnish Leafs forward Kapanen thinks refs made wrong call in women's final© Provided by Canadian Press Enterprises Inc

A Finnish forward for the Toronto Maple Leafs thinks his country should have won the world women's hockey championship.

Kasperi Kapanen doesn't understand why a Finland goal in overtime of the final against the United States was waived off after a lengthy review on Sunday. The teams played out the rest of overtime without a goal before the Americans won in a shootout in Espoo, Finland.

"It was a little crazy. I think it should have been a goal ... the goalie's out of her net and they're going to call a penalty anyway," Kapanen said.

"I think they kind of messed it up ... that's what happens. It is what it is."

Bruce Arthur: Maple Leafs’ skills provide the thrills in Game 3 win over Bruins

Bruce Arthur: Maple Leafs’ skills provide the thrills in Game 3 win over Bruins There are different kinds of hockey, and different kind of games. In Game 2 of this first-round series between the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Boston Bruins the officials reset the refereeing standard from Straight Up to Goat Rodeo, and the Bruins ran the Leafs out of the building. It was a reminder: Boston is plenty skilled, but they’re plenty skilled at smashing skill, too. And then in Game 3 in Toronto Monday night the Leafs just kept playing, and the refs called it tight; it was a more Platonic version of hockey. And in that weather, Toronto had enough, winning 3-2 for a 2-1 lead in the series.

Playing in their first final, the Finns celebrated what they thought was a golden goal by Petra Nieminen at 11:33 of the 20-minute overtime. But after video review, the goal was called back.

Finland captain Jenni Hiirikoski had made contact with American goaltender Alex Rigsby, who was moving out of her crease, as she passed in front of the net. Nieminen had a near-empty net at which to shoot.

Hiirikoski wasn't assessed a goaltender interference penalty, but Rigsby was given a tripping minor.

The International Ice Hockey Federation released a statement on Monday, saying the goal was disallowed due to non-incidental goaltender interference.

The IIHF, which had a video goal judge review every goal during the tourney, cited two rules.

Leafs’ Nazem Kadri suspended for rest of Bruins series

Leafs’ Nazem Kadri suspended for rest of Bruins series Nazem Kadri’s season may be over, as may be his career with the Maple Leafs. Kadri was suspended for the rest of the opening round of the playoffs by the NHL’s department of player safety on Monday for his cross-check to the head of Boston’s Jake DeBrusk in Game 2 of the Toronto-Boston Stanley Cup playoff series. If the Leafs don’t survive the first round, Kadri will have played his last game of the season. And if the Leafs braintrust is looking to find some salary-cap space over the summer to re-sign Mitch Marner, Andreas Johnsson and Kasperi Kapanen, Kadri’s cap hit of $4.5 million U.S. until the end of the 2021-22 season might be the place they start.

One states: "An attacking skater who makes contact other than incidental with a goaltender who is out of his goal crease during game action will be assessed a minor penalty for interference. If a goal is scored at this time, it will not count."

The other states: "Incidental contact is allowed when the goaltender is in the act of playing the puck outside his goal crease, provided the attacking skater makes a reasonable effort to minimize or avoid such contact."

Taking those two rules into account, the IIHF said the video goal judge determined the goal should be disallowed.

While the refs had called tripping on Rigsby during the play, penalties are not reviewable by the video goal judge. Once the goal was waived off, the referees decided to uphold the original penalty.

Kapanen was watching overtime on Sunday.

"It happened and I thought they'd won," he said before the Leafs faced the visiting Boston Bruins in Game 3 of their Eastern Conference quarterfinal on Monday night. "I was really happy for them."

TAKEAWAYS: Auston Matthews finally wins a goal review

TAKEAWAYS: Auston Matthews finally wins a goal review If the Maple Leafs truly beat the Boston Bruins in this series, the pivotal moment may well have come with 8:27 remaining in the third period of a scoreless Game 5. Auston Matthews scored and roughly the same time that Zach Hyman bumped into Tuukka Rask. The Bruins challenged. Matthews – who has had a number of goals overturned – kept his head down during the review. The NHL sided with good goal. Their argument wasn’t really all that convincing, at least to Bruins fans. Here’s what the NHL said: “After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Referees, the Situation Room confirmed the Referee’s call on the ice. The decision was made in accordance to Rule 78.

Canada and the U.S. have won every Olympic and world championship gold in women's hockey, so a Finnish win would have been new territory for the sport.

"It would have been nice for them to win," said Kapanen, who celebrated a world junior title on home ice in 2016. "It would have been good for women's hockey, and just our country in general.

"It's unfortunate."

Kapanen wasn't the only one confused by the call.

Former American women's team captain Julie Chu tweeted, "What is going onnnnn? If it's not a goal, then Finland should have a penalty for goalie interference. If it's a goal, then it means USA tripped Finland and the Finnish goal is good...? If it's no goal, then how does USA have penalty? Someone help me?? honest question."

Former Canadian captain Hayley Wickenheiser tweeted, "That. Was. A. Goal. #suomi."

The officiating crew in Sunday's final consisted of referees Nicole Hertrich of Germany and Lacey Senuk of Canada, and linespersons Veronica Lovenso of Sweden and Justine Todd of Canada.

Finland coach Pasi Mustonen said he received no explanation from officials about the penalty calls or the decision that came out of the video review.

Bruce Arthur: Auston Matthews’ big moment breaks deadlock as Leafs put Bruins on brink

Bruce Arthur: Auston Matthews’ big moment breaks deadlock as Leafs put Bruins on brink BOSTON—Auston Matthews couldn’t look. Maybe you couldn’t, either, because everyone had gotten to that stage of the game where everything was terrifying, if you had a rooting interest. Auston Matthews did. So Matthews had his head on the boards as the officials announced he had indeed scored the first goal of a tense and tight and important playoff game, with 8:27 left, and that Zach Hyman bumping lightly into Boston Bruins goaltender Tuukka Rask wasn’t enough to call it back. Matthews pounded the dasher in celebration. He knew what it meant. Boston had to chase, and two minutes and 12 seconds later Kasperi Kapanen scored on a counterattack to make it 2-0.

"They never come to me. They are ordered not to talk," Mustonen said Sunday after the final. "They never can communicate, which means they destroy the atmosphere between the referees and the teams.

"They don't really have the self-confidence that is needed to communicate with people in this atmosphere and that is the problem, which is also a matter of competence. We need male referees.

"All the female referees that are mature enough to be here, naturally, they should be here, but there are so few in the world."

Mustonen said the video judge in the game was Germany's Manuela Groeger-Schneider.

"There are two possibilities," Mustonen said. "Goalie lost the puck, took a leap after the puck and hit Jenni Hiirikoski's feet. Jenni was clearly outside the area. If they think that was Jenni who attacked the goalie, she has to get two minutes penalty.

"She didn't. If they give a penalty to the goalie, as they did, the goal is a good goal according to the information I got."

Hiirikoski did not think she had illegally interfered with the American.

"No, I didn't," Hiirikoski said. "She came out from her crease. What can you do? We don't make the decisions."

Rigsby saw it a different way.

"Right away, I knew that it wasn't a goal," Rigsby said. "I was trying to cover up the rebound and I got taken out.

"And so for me to get interfered with like that and then they score, I knew right away that it was not a goal.

"I was trying to ask the ref how I got a penalty, considering I was the one who got body-slammed. But the ref thinks I tried tripping the player when I was on the ground, and somehow I end up with the penalty. Funny how that went."

Finnish Ice Hockey Federation chief executive officer Matti Nurminen said after the game referees were giving a penalty to Rigsby for tripping and were allowing the goal.

"But when it goes to video review, the power and authority goes the video-goal judges," he said. "They saw it as goalie interference and made that decision.

"IIHF president Rene Fasel said it was a judgment call. If you show it to 100 hockey persons, some per cent say it was a goal and some say it wasn't."

— with files from Joshua Clipperton in Toronto and Donna Spencer in Espoo, Finland.

The Canadian Press

Dubas: 'Imperative' for Leafs to get Marner signed before July 1.
Toronto Maple Leafs general manager Kyle Dubas said Thursday it's "imperative" to get Mitch Marner signed before July 1, according to The Athletic's Jonas Siegel. If the Leafs don't sign Marner to a contract before July 1, he would be left exposed to restricted free agency, where another team could sign him to an offer sheet. This would prove problematic for the salary-cap crunched Maple Leafs, who would be forced to match the offer in order to retain Marner's services. The Maple Leafs project to have roughly $13 million in cap space for next season, and Marner could potentially demand an annual figure north of $10 million.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

usr: 3
This is interesting!