•   
  •   
  •   

Sports Reed penalized at Hero for improving lie, blames camera angle

11:50  07 december  2019
11:50  07 december  2019 Source:   golfchannel.com

Reed holds 3-shot lead midway through Hero World Challenge

  Reed holds 3-shot lead midway through Hero World Challenge Patrick Reed pulled away from the field with his second consecutive 6-under 66 to take a three-shot lead after Round 2 at the Hero World Challenge. The 29-year-old entered Thursday's round sharing the top spot with Gary Woodland. But thanks to eight birdies - and one bogey on No. 17 - Reed gave himself a large cushion with 36 holes to play."Captain America" is trying to remove any doubt as to whether he truly deserved a selection for next week's Presidents Cup from Tiger Woods with a victory in the Bahamas.Speaking of Tiger, the tournament host rebounded from opening-round 72 with a bogey-free 66 on Day 2.

Patrick Reed was given a two-shot penalty Friday at the Hero World Challenge after improving his lie of play on the 11th hole at the Hero World Challenge. NASSAU, Bahamas – Upon walking into the scoring tent Friday at the Hero World Challenge, Patrick Reed was greeted with some unfortunate

Reed was penalized two strokes for a violation of Rule 8.1a(4) for improving his intended line of play. While Reed prepared to hit his second shot at “I think with a different camera angle they would have realized that if it was from the side you would have seen that with the backswing it was not improving

Patrick Reed holding a baseball bat© Provided by Golf Channel

NASSAU, Bahamas – Upon walking into the scoring tent Friday at the Hero World Challenge, Patrick Reed was greeted with some unfortunate news: he was being penalized two shots for improving his line of play, and there was video evidence to support the ruling.

The penalty occurred on the par-5 11th hole during Reed’s third round at Albany Golf Course. He was leading the tournament at 12 under and preparing to play his third shot from a buried lie in the waste area when cameras showed him twice brushing back sand from directly behind the ball with his club after address.

After the round, Reed was found to have violated Rule 8.1a(4), which prohibits players from removing or pressing down sand or loose soil in order to improve the conditions affecting the stroke.

Woodland carries 1-shot lead into final round of Hero World Challenge

  Woodland carries 1-shot lead into final round of Hero World Challenge Gary Woodland posted a 4-under 68 in Round 3 of the Hero World Challenge to claim a one-shot lead with 18 holes remaining in the Bahamas. The 35-year-old birdied his final two holes to steal the top spot away from Sweden's Henrik Stenson, who was already in the clubhouse at 12-under par. Tiger Woods continued his climb into contention with an impressive 5-under 67 on Friday. He'll head into Saturday's final round facing a two-shot deficit. However, the story of the day belonged to 36-hole leader Patrick Reed.

| Reed penalized 2 shots for improving line of play at Hero . But he added that the only camera angle came from behind the ball, and from his perspective, he was not improving his lie . “I was far enough away from the golf ball because when I take my practice swings anyways, I don't ever put the

After cameras caught him blatantly improving his line of play in a bunker at the Hero World Challenge, Patrick Reed was hit with a two-shot penalty.

“You could see, the club did get behind the ball closer and then when he took it away, you could see the path of the sand come away in two different occasions,” said Slugger White, PGA Tour’s vice president of rules and competitions. “He did it the first time and he put the club down again and he did it another time, but that’s irrelevant. It doesn’t make any difference.”

Reed’s two-shot penalty turned his bogey on the hole into a triple bogey, and instead of shooting even-par 72 and entering Sunday’s final round a shot off the lead, Reed was credited with a third-round 74 and will start the final round at 10 under, three shots behind leader Gary Woodland.

“I accept that,” said Reed after a nearly-five-minute discussion with rules officials. “It wasn't because of any intent. I felt like I was far enough away, but because of what we saw…”

Golf: Reed violation 'opens the door' for Presidents Cup crowds - Leishman

  Golf: Reed violation 'opens the door' for Presidents Cup crowds - Leishman Golf: Reed violation 'opens the door' for Presidents Cup crowds - LeishmanReed was penalized two strokes on Friday after twice moving sand while taking practice swings to improve his lie at the invitational tournament in the Bahamas hosted by Tiger Woods.

Patrick Reed was assessed a two-shot penalty after conferring with rules officials following his third round at the Hero World Challenge on Friday for Reed insisted to reporters afterward that there was no intent to improve his lie and that the camera angle from behind doesn't show how much of a gap.

Patrick Reed was assessed a two-shot penalty after conferring with rules officials following his third round at the Hero World Challenge on Friday for Reed insisted to reporters afterward that there was no intent to improve his lie and that the camera angle from behind doesn't show how much of a gap

Reed tried to explain that his ball was sitting in a “pretty good footprint” and on both occasions his clubface was about 4 inches away from the ball when he pulled it back and brushed away “a little sand.” But he added that the only camera angle came from behind the ball, and from his perspective, he was not improving his lie.

Hero World Challenge: Full-field scores | Full coverage

“I was far enough away from the golf ball because when I take my practice swings anyways, I don't ever put the club directly behind the ball because I'm always scared of the ball moving,” Reed said. “I'm always going to give myself some room, especially on practice swings. After seeing that camera angle, because it brushed the sand, it's a penalty. … It is a big part, intent, but at the same time, when you only have one camera angle, that's all you can go off of.”

McIlroy gives Reed benefit of doubt: People 'kick him when he's down'

  McIlroy gives Reed benefit of doubt: People 'kick him when he's down' Rory McIlroy is the latest player to chime in on Patrick Reed's sand-sweeping fiasco from Round 3 of the Hero World Challenge and decided against piling on his Ryder Cup rival. "The live shot isn't as incriminating as the slow-mo," McIlroy said on Golf Channel's "Morning Drive" on Monday. "It's hard because you try to give the player the benefit of the doubt. He's in there trying to figure out what way to play the shot." The Northern"The live shot ... isn't as incriminating as the slow-mo," McIlroy said on Golf Channel's "Morning Drive" on Monday. "It's hard because you try to give the player the benefit of the doubt. He's in there trying to figure out what way to play the shot.

Reed penalized at Hero , blames camera angle . Patrick Reed was given a two-shot penalty Friday at the Hero World Challenge after improving his line of play on the 11th hole at the Hero World Challenge.

Patrick Reed was handed a two-stroke penalty for improving his lie during the third round of the Hero World Challenge in the Bahamas. Reed remains adamant he did nothing wrong knowingly and that a single camera angle , from behind and which twice shows the Texan flicking sand during practice

White said Reed was a “gentleman” when informed of the infraction, but added that intent wouldn’t have mattered in this situation.

“That’s not in the mix,” White said.

Despite the costly penalty, Reed, who will tee off at 10:43 a.m. ET Saturday alongside Jon Rahm in the third-to-last pairing, was prepared to quickly move on.

“At the end of the day, you've got to let things kind of roll off your shoulders, and also at the same time I still have a whole other round to play tomorrow,” Reed said. “If I stew over something that I felt like I didn't intentionally do – at the end of the day, it's my word versus their word, and they weren't standing there, they had a camera angle, so because of that, you know, you don't really have a choice – but at the end of the day, I mean, after seeing it, after seeing the club go back and brush some sand, I mean, they thought that that's a breach and in the Rules of Golf if you improve your lie. … At the end of the day, you have to just accept it and move on.”

Reed regains 'Captain America' cape at Royal Melbourne .
Reed regains 'Captain America' cape at Royal MelbourneMELBOURNE (Reuters) - Patrick Reed had dug himself a hole before arriving at the Presidents Cup, his two-stroke penalty for flinging some sand away with his wedge in a waste bunker stoking controversy and putting a big target on his back at Royal Melbourne.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

usr: 4
This is interesting!