Sports Champions League winners Bayern, Lyon head UEFA awards lists

15:03  23 september  2020
15:03  23 september  2020 Source:   msn.com

UEFA awards: Lewandowski, Bayern dominate annual honors

  UEFA awards: Lewandowski, Bayern dominate annual honors In addition to the groups for the 2020-21 Champions League campaign, UEFA revealed the recipients of a bevy of season-ending awards during Thursday's ceremony in Geneva. Here are the winners of the various honors. Men's Player of the Year Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) The presumptive Ballon d'Or favorite prior to the scrapping of the 2020 installment, Robert Lewandowski capped a brilliant campaign by leading Bayern Munich to a Champions League title. The Polish international became one of only two players to capture a treble while leading all three competitions in scoring.

Hans-Dieter Flick, Robert Lewandowski standing next to a football ball © Provided by The Canadian Press

NYON, Switzerland — Champions League winner Bayern Munich dominated the shortlists announced Wednesday for UEFA’s 2019-20 season awards in European soccer.

Bayern forward Robert Lewandowksi, who scored a career-best 55 goals for his club last season, and goalkeeper Manuel Neuer were nominated for men’s player of the year in Europe after a dominant season with the treble-winning German team.

"Cheek": Bayern fans don't want a new Ischgl

 UEFA wants to allow up to 20,000 spectators to the Supercup between Bayern and Seville and is increasingly criticized for this. A Bayern fan finds hard words at SPORT1. © Provided by sport1.de "Cheekiness": Bayern fans do not want a new Ischgl UEFA still has time to cancel a game that raises ever greater question marks.

The third nominee was Kevin de Bruyne, who won the players' vote in England and starred as Manchester City reached the Champions League quarterfinals and finished second in the Premier League to Liverpool.

Bayern coach Hansi Flick, who only took charge in November, heads an all-German list of men’s coach nominations. It includes Liverpool’s Jürgen Klopp and Julian Nagelsmann of Leipzig.

The shortlists were voted on by coaches of the 80 teams that played in the Champions League and Europa League group stages, and media from each of UEFA’s 55 member countries.

Women’s Champions League winner Lyon provided Wendie Renard and Lucy Bronze for the best player shortlist and Jean-Luc Vasseur for the coach’s award in women’s soccer.

Champions League beaten finalist Wolfsburg had Pernille Harder on the player shortlist and Stephan Lerch among the coach nominees.

All three candidates for the women’s coaching award are men, with Lluís Cortes of Barcelona completing the list.

The voting jury was made up of the coaches of Champions League and national teams, plus specialist media in women’s soccer.

The awards will be announced and presented at the men’s Champions League groups draw on Oct. 1 at UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland.


More AP soccer: https://apnews.com/Soccer and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

The Associated Press

Super Cup: UEFA invites you to Budapest - but Bayern fans are now refusing too! .
© Provided by 90min This is what the stands in Budapest will look like On Thursday evening, FC Bayern will face FC Sevilla in Budapest in a duel between the reigning champions of the two major European club competitions. It's called the UEFA Super Cup, but although the continental association is actively promoting a game with spectators - nobody really wants to go there.

usr: 1
This is interesting!