US News The Mo Ibrahim Prize awarded to Nigerien President Mahamadou Issoufou

03:23  08 march  2021
03:23  08 march  2021 Source:   rfi.fr

The Itter twins: What happened to the former top talents at VfL Wolfsburg?

 The Itter twins: What happened to the former top talents at VfL Wolfsburg? The twin brothers Gian-Luca and Davide-Jerome Itter were once considered the great young talents of the VfL Wolfsburg . But because of injuries, both of them have not yet made their breakthrough in the professional field.

Mahamadou Issoufou, président du Niger. © RFI Mahamadou Issoufou, President of Niger.

This is RFI information. The Mo Ibrahim Prize, supposed to reward leadership excellence in Africa each year, had not been awarded for four years.

According to the committee which awards the prize, the Head of State of Niger, Mahamadou Issoufou, distinguished himself by his efforts to improve the economic development of his country, while working for regional stability. 2 But it was above all his decision not to run for a third term that also distinguished him, explained Aicha Bah Diallo, one of the members and former Minister of Education in Guinea. 2 “We chose him because he meets the criteria. He was democratically elected in 2011. He was democratically re-elected in 2016, and in 2020 he stepped down, in accordance with the Constitution of Niger. He gave us the opportunity to finally experience, in Niger, after 60 years, a democratic transition. "2 He left power after two terms, but many criticize him for having done so after a process over his main rival Hama Hamadou, who was excluded from the electoral competition. Doesn't that tarnish his image? "It's not President Issoufou's fault," Aicha Bah Diallo replies. He has already served his two terms. He behaved very well, he respected the constitutional rule. Look at the criteria on which we used to do our analysis. 0 »2 The Mo Ibrahim Prize was awarded in 2017 to President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia (2017), President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia (2014), President Pedro Pires of Cabo Verde (2011), President Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008) and President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007). President Nelson Mandela was named the first honorary recipient in 2007.

Listen again to Justin Morin's report on Lafarge concrete pollution, 2020 Varenne Prize .
© JACQUES DEMARTHON / AFP Our journalist Justin Morin, who works in the police-justice service of Europe 1, won the Varenne prize 2020 category "young journalist" for his report shot in Paris, where the cement manufacturer Lafarge voluntarily rejects its waste in the Seine. The cement manufacturer Lafarge was caught in the act of environmental pollution, in the Bercy district in Paris, a stone's throw from the Ministry of the Economy.

usr: 4
This is interesting!