•   
  •   
  •   

Food We Found Out If Theater Popcorn Is Actually Gluten-Free

02:51  28 january  2022
02:51  28 january  2022 Source:   goodhousekeeping.com

Is Seitan Healthy? Experts Share Everything You Need to Know About the High-Protein Meat Alternative

  Is Seitan Healthy? Experts Share Everything You Need to Know About the High-Protein Meat Alternative It tastes just like chicken—but what exactly is in this plant-based protein, and is it actually good for you?And while the answer is always yes, it leaves us wondering: What is seitan? And is it really healthy?

Whether you’re munching during a movie, snacking in the car or just enjoying an afternoon snack, popcorn can be delightful. Not only does it taste great and offer up a unique soft-and-crunchy-at-the-same-time texture, it’s also healthy. “Popcorn, because it is a whole grain, is a good source of several vitamins and minerals — niacin, iron, phosphorus, magnesium, zinc and manganese — and is high in dietary fiber which promotes digestive health,” says Jessica Beacom, R.D.N., co-founder of The Real Food Dietitians and co-author of the upcoming book The Real Food Table. That said, not all healthy foods fit into a gluten-free diet, so is popcorn gluten-free?

AMC Will Start Selling Its Popcorn Outside of Theaters

  AMC Will Start Selling Its Popcorn Outside of Theaters The cinema giant announced they will offer freshly-popped popcorn at mall kiosks and via delivery, plus a new microwave-at-home option. But with everything that's happened, AMC must have realized that, at the very least, the future is uncertain, so America's largest theater company is pushing into new territory to help diversify their business: popcorn. Late last week, AMC announced they will be "expanding its business outside of the traditional theatrical exhibition industry with plans to capture a piece of the growing multi-billion dollar popcorn market.

First, what is gluten?

Before we get to the specifics of popcorn, it’s helpful to understand the ingredient we’re all talking about. “Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and triticale,” says Beacom. “People with celiac disease have an immune system reaction that is triggered by gluten that causes damage to the lining of their small intestine which, over time, prevents the absorption of nutrients from the foods they eat. Others may have non-celiac gluten sensitivity or a wheat allergy and thus have to avoid gluten to prevent adverse reactions.” Those reactions can range from gas and cramping to headaches, depression and anemia — just to name a few. “I think there are over 300 reported symptoms for both celiac and gluten sensitivity,” says Tayler Silfverduk, R.D.N., a nutritionist who specializes in gluten-related disorders including celiac disease. “Specifically for celiac, if someone eats gluten, they are directly damaging their small intestine so it's really important that they are avoiding it.”

The Best Phone Cleaners to Sanitize Your Phone

  The Best Phone Cleaners to Sanitize Your Phone Your phone is gross, but a UV light phone sanitizer can blast bacteria out of every nook and cranny. The post The Best Phone Cleaners to Sanitize Your Phone appeared first on Reader's Digest.Most experts recommend using Clorox or Lysol wipes to clean your phone, but if you want to be extra thorough, add UV phone sanitization to your regular cleaning schedule. It works like this: Place your device inside the UV sanitizer box and turn it on to release artificial UV-C light, which destroys harmful microscopic organisms lurking on your phone. "This, in theory, will kill anything inside the sanitizer, including any viruses," says Sarah McConomy, a mobile phone tech expert.

So, is popcorn gluten-free?

“Popcorn itself is naturally gluten-free but since it is often processed on equipment that also processes gluten-containing grains, the end result isn’t always gluten-free thanks to cross-contamination,” says Beacom. On top of that, sometimes flavorings or seasonings that contain gluten are added to popcorn products, Silfverduk points out. As long as you ensure a particular popcorn product does not contain gluten, it can be an excellent addition to a gluten-free diet. “It is a whole grain and it’s a good source of fiber, which are two things that tend to be lower in a gluten-free diet simply because a lot of those whole grains that people rely on tend to be gluten-derived,” says Silfverduk.

is popcorn gluten free © Getty Images is popcorn gluten free

How to choose gluten-free popcorn:

“The best way to know if your popcorn is gluten-free is to read the label and look specially for the words ‘gluten-free’ or ‘certified gluten-free’,” says Beacom. “Even better, look for a symbol of a third-party verification or certification program such as the National Celiac Association, Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) or NSF.” If the phrases “gluten-free,” “no gluten” or “without gluten” appear on a food’s label, the product must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, in accordance with U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulations. “The 20 parts per million is what's been clinically proven to prevent any damage to the small intestine,” explains Silfverduk. “A product doesn’t necessarily have to have a gluten-free claim for it to be safe, but that kind of eliminates the rest of the work that you would have to do to determine if your product is safe, which means looking at the ingredients to make sure none of the ingredients have gluten or are derived from gluten.” Of course, she says, if you're worried about eating corn or any other food for that matter, it’s best talk to your dietitian or physician about what cautions you need to take because the side effects of eating gluten can vary depending on a person’s sensitivity.

Is There a Psoriasis Diet That Helps Manage Symptoms?

  Is There a Psoriasis Diet That Helps Manage Symptoms? Here’s what experts know about how food impacts psoriasis.Although there is absolutely no reason to feel bad about having a medical condition that can be so out of your control, some people may feel self-conscious about their psoriasis, since the plaques can appear in very visible areas, like the knees, elbows, and chest.

How to make gluten-free popcorn at home:

The simplest way to ensure your popcorn is gluten-free? Make it at home — it’s easier than you think! “My favorite way to make popcorn at home is on the stovetop,” says Beacom. “I swear by a Whirley-Pop popper — it makes the best popcorn — but you can use any large pot with a lid.” She recommends drizzling popped kernels with a little melted butter and tossing with a gluten-free homemade ranch seasoning mix (which there’s a recipe for in her upcoming cookbook).

And is movie theater popcorn gluten-free?

Some movie theaters serve completely gluten-free popcorn while others’ popcorn is only gluten-free when it’s without the buttery topping. “I would just contact the theater or the chain to confirm the status of their popcorn before attending,” says Silfverduk. “Also, celiac is considered a disability and per ADA reasonable accommodations, you should be allowed to bring your own snacks if they don't have gluten-free options. I would call ahead of time to confirm this will not be a problem, too.”

These 5-Ingredient, Gluten-Free Shortbread Cookies Are So Simple, You Could Bake Them in Your Sleep .
They're rich, flaky, and delicious—yes, even without butter."This recipe only has five simple ingredients," Rigden says. And chances are, if you avoid gluten, you already have everything on hand: gluten-free all-purpose flour, refined coconut oil, honey, vanilla extract, and salt. That's it.

usr: 1
This is interesting!