SportCam Newton not recognizing Tua Tagovailoa for Heisman Trophy

18:55  06 december  2018
18:55  06 december  2018 Source:   yardbarker.com

Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa wins Walter Camp Player of the Year

Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa wins Walter Camp Player of the Year It’s going to be one tight battle between Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray and Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa for this year’s Heisman trophy. Murray is seen as the betting favorite to come away with the nation’s top individual honor. He was also just named the Associated Press Player of the Year. But in an interesting turn, Tagovailoa was named the Walter Camp Player of the Year Thursday evening.

Tuanigamanuolepola " Tua " Tagovailoa (TOO-ah TAH-goh vai-LOH-ah) (born March 2, 1998) is an American football quarterback for the Alabama Crimson Tide. He was born and raised in Hawaii.

Cam Newton , Auburn QB. 2011. Case Keenum, Houston QB. Tua Tagovailoa still massive favorite to win in new Heisman odds via @SuperBookUSA: Tagovailoa 5/7 Grier, Haskins, Murray 4/1 Milton, Taylor 20/1 Herbert, McSorley 30/1 Love 40/1 Dillon 50/1 Lock, Snell 60/1 Dungey, Etienne, Fromm

Cam Newton not recognizing Tua Tagovailoa for Heisman Trophy© Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports The 2018 Heisman Trophy race appears to be unofficially down to two candidates, but Cam Newton has apparently never heard of one of them.

Newton, who has a Heisman vote every year as a former recipient of the award, was asked on Wednesday who his pick is to win the coveted trophy. He said he can’t answer the question “for obvious reasons,” and he had an interesting response when a reporter brought up Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa.

It should be noted that Heisman rules prohibit voters from publicly revealing their vote, so that is probably why Newton refused to answer the initial question. However, the part about having never heard of Tagovailoa likely has to do with the Auburn-Alabama rivalry. Newton, of course, was a star at Auburn.

If Newton doesn’t want to vote for Tagovailoa out of spite, he has a good opportunity to justify it. Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray is now the Las Vegas favorite to win the award after his performance against Texas in the Big 12 championship game and what happened with Alabama’s comeback against Georgia.

Video by For the Win

Heisman finalists: Tua Tagovailoa, Kyler Murray and Dwayne Haskins.
The 2018 Heisman Trophy finalists were revealed Monday with three players earning invitations to the ceremony Saturday night in New York City. 

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!