World Chemistry Nobel Prize goes to German Benjamin List and US Researcher David MacMillan for methods for accelerating chemical reactions

15:40  06 october  2021
15:40  06 october  2021 Source:   dw.com

Nobel prize season returns under pandemic spotlight

  Nobel prize season returns under pandemic spotlight Covid-19 vaccine pioneers, media watchdogs, climate activists and Belarus opposition leaders are just some of those tipped for Nobel glory when the latest prize recipients are announced from Monday against the background of the pandemic. Launched 120 years ago, the medicine, physics, chemistry, literature and peace awards created by Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, as well as the more recent economics prize, will be given out in Stockholm and Oslo from October 4-11.

Scientific Nobel prices go to an end with the awarding in category Chemistry. Benjamin List and David MacMillan were honored for methods for accelerating chemical reactions.

While the Nobel Committee in Stockholm explains his decision in a live presentation, we have for you the most important information about the winners and their excellent research.

We will complement each other again here.

The Chemistry Nobel Prize

The chemistry was the most important science for Alfred Nobels. Both the development of his inventions and the industrial procedures used by him was based on chemical knowledge. Accordingly, chemistry was the second pricing area, which nobel mentioned in his will.

Activists, WHO in the frame as Nobel Peace guessing starts

  Activists, WHO in the frame as Nobel Peace guessing starts STAVANGER, Norway (AP) — The annual Nobel Peace Prize shines the brightest of lights on the person or group thought to have done most to promote peace. But guessing who it will be is just a stab in the dark. That’s because the secretive Norwegian Nobel Committee never drops any advance hints. In the past decade, winners have included diplomats, doctors, dissidents and presidents. Who were the other candidates? We can’t know for sure — the panel keeps their ruminations in a vault for 50 years.Bookmakers have the World Health Organization as the most likely winner for 2021, for its work during the pandemic.

Last year, the Chemical Nobel Prize for the Revolutionary Crispr / Cas9 Gen Scissors was awarded. Two researchers from France and the USA have been awarded: Jennifer Dudna and Emmanuelle Charpentier have revolutionized medicine and biotechnology with gene scissors. The discovery enables therapies against hereditary diseases and the breeding of resistant plants.

Crispr / Cas9 has revolutionized the molecular life sciences, brought new opportunities for plant breeding, contributing to innovative cancer therapies and could be true to the dream of the healing of inherited diseases, it was said in the justification of the Nobel Committee.

Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Dudna had made usable one of the sharpest tools of genetic engineering. With her, researchers could change the DNA of animals, plants and microorganisms with the highest precision, it was said to be explained.

Why Black Lives Matter Winning Nobel Peace Prize Would be 'Brave Decision'

  Why Black Lives Matter Winning Nobel Peace Prize Would be 'Brave Decision' The winner of the prestigious prize is set to be announced on October 8.Petter Eide, the Norwegian lawmaker who nominated Black Lives Matter for the prize, said he would be delighted, but surprised, by a win.

The week of prices

Video: Medicine Nobel Prize goes to two US researchers (AFP)

The chemical price is the third and last scientific award of the Nobel Committee this year.

The beginning made medicine on Monday. David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian received the prize for their discovery of receptors for temperature and contact.

On Tuesday, the Physics Nobel Prize was awarded to the climate modeler SYUKURO manabe (Japan) and Klaus Hasselmann (Germany) and Giorgio Parisi (Italy) for its research into complex physical systems.

On Thursday and Friday Follow the literature and the Nobel Peace Prize, on 11 October the award is awarded in the field of economics.

120 years Nobel Prize

Nobel prices will be awarded to the 120th time this year. During this time, the coveted award has acquired the reputation, both mysterious and rigorous. Very often, the award is given more than one person, but more than three can not be excellent.

Nobel Prize in chemistry goes to Benjamin List and David MacMillan

  Nobel Prize in chemistry goes to Benjamin List and David MacMillan The Nobel Prize in chemistry has been awarded to Benjamin List and David W.C. MacMillan, two scientists honored for creating "an ingenious tool for building molecules" that has helped develop new drugs and made chemistry greener. © Provided by CNN David MacMillan and Benjamin List The pair were awarded the prize in Stockholm, Sweden on Wednesday, "for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis." Their discoveries "initiated a totally new way of thinking for how to put together chemical molecules," said Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede, a member of the chemistry Nobel committee.

While many scientists hope to receive the recognition of a Nobel Prize, one day, Gravitational wave researcher Karsten Danzmann (himself not a Nobel laureate) in the DW conversation, it already empathizes if their own work is associated with a Nobel Prize and when others Scientists are the "victims", which "wear the whole burden of the media rumb, to be there for a good thing".

But the committee is hard: If it is in a year that no nominated value is worth the price, it reserves the right to postpone the prize money next year.

This year's winners will receive a prize money of 10 million Swedish crowns (about 980,000 euros), a nobline medal and a number of other pieces of jewelery.

However, you must be patient until December 10th. Normally, the solemn assignment in Stockholm or Oslo takes place on this date. Due to the pandemic, the winners will receive the prices in their home countries again this year.

Author: Alexander Friend

Economics Prize wraps up unpredictable Nobel season .
The Nobel Economics Prize on Monday wraps up a Nobel season characterised by surprising picks, with a number of women in with a chance of scooping the traditionally male-dominated prize. This Nobel season, only one woman has won -- Philippine journalist Maria Ressa who won the Peace Prize on Friday -- while the economics prize has so far only been awarded to two women in history, Elinor Ostrom in 2009 and Esther Duflo in 2019. American Anne Krueger, formerly the number two and briefly the managing director at the International Monetary Fund (IMF), as well as a former Vice President for Economics and Research at the World Bank, is one possible winner.

usr: 3
This is interesting!